top of page

Ambassadors For Christ During A Crisis


Sometimes I lose focus. If you know me well, you know it’s true. I won’t argue that my mind wanders like a goldfish in a fishbowl, side to side, up and down, waiting for something to pull my curiosity in. I feel like, as believer of Jesus, the potential to lose focus is not uncommon. As believers, there are many different “new” ideas, movements, and causes that contest with our focus. As believers we have the command to live life in the Spirit, to love God, and love people; to be ambassadors for God in this lost world. As noble as that sounds, it’s not always easy. My flesh and the world’s distractions tug away at my focus like a small town tractor pull.

In the Kingdom of God, we are called to be God's representatives in the same way that Jesus demonstrated, by His example. Our ability to stand as God's ambassadors in the earth can only be accomplished by God's grace revealed in Christ.


We read in Matthew 28:18-20


Then Jesus came to them and said, “All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me. Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you. And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.


We see that we are commissioned as Christ’s ambassadors.

  • We have been sent in His name to represent all that His name implies.

  • We have been given His authority to execute His interests throughout the earth.

  • We have been given His power to carry out His work and ministry.

  • We have been given His Spirit in order to reflect His character and attitude to all with whom we come in contact.

Amazing!


And yet, it remains a daily challenge. My focus is often on how I feel, my rights, my opinions, my goals, my…. You get the idea. Often my focus is on me, being an ambassador doesn’t come naturally.

Functioning as His ambassadors in all spheres of life, is one of the primary roles we must seek to fulfill as we pursue the will of God. We have not only been given the call to be His representatives, but also the authority of His name and the power of His Spirit to fulfill the task.


Seeking first the kingdom of God will mean establishing the Lordship of Jesus in our own personal lives first and then properly representing Him to those spheres of life where we have been directed by the Holy Spirit. We represent Him by initiating prayer in our circles, extinguishing bitterness and strife, working towards unity, and talking to someone about the love of Jesus.


Church - the world needs JESUS. Plain and simple. Please take time and focus on the Kingdom as we continue into 2021.


Grace and peace.

Onward,

Pastor Jim

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page