top of page

Valleys and More Valleys

As we study David, we understand that life has victories and valleys. We are, of course, looking in retrospect at his life, so we can see the purposes of God fulfilled. However, in the middle of very difficult life moments he wrote Psalm 54. From facing persecution, adversity, betrayal, to seeing his closest friend for the last time. In it we read of the valley and how to live through it. Take some time and read through it.

Note, as he starts in verses 1-3, he speaks to God about his enemies. He even goes so far as to describe them as arrogant and ruthless.

1 Save me, O God, by your name;

vindicate me by your might.

2 Hear my prayer, O God;

listen to the words of my mouth.

3 Arrogant foes are attacking me;

ruthless people are trying to kill me—

people without regard for God.

Next he speaks to God about himself. Do you see the confession of where he places his hope and then puts action to it? He transitions from thought to action, to putting his faith to work in his life!

4 Surely God is my help;

the Lord is the one who sustains me.

5 Let evil recoil on those who slander me;

in your faithfulness destroy them.

6 I will sacrifice a freewill offering to you;

I will praise your name, LORD, for it is good.

As he ends this psalm, observe how David leaves the treachery of his supposed friends, with the One who is can deal with them. He is now looking to God. First his focus was on his enemies but after he sees them through God. If you begin with God, problems grow small, remember that.

7 You have delivered me from all my troubles,

and my eyes have looked in triumph on my foes.

We live in days of adversity, but we know that is never a reason to be discouraged because of our relationship with Jesus.

Cheering for you,

Onward.

Pastor Jim



18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page